Mi-STAR uses a train-the-trainer approach to prepare teachers to implement our curriculum, which is aligned with NGSS and the standards of many states that have adopted new standards based on NGSS. Mi-STAR staff will train individuals that have the appropriate STEM background as well as experience in providing teacher professional learning. Individuals who successfully complete the training will become Mi-STAR certified Professional Learning Facilitators. Each certified Mi-STAR Professional Learning Facilitator will be able to prepare teachers from their local region to effectively implement the Mi-STAR curriculum.

 For questions about the Mi-STAR Professional Learning Program, please contact Marianne Semones, msemones@mtu.edu.  

 2017-2018 Professional Learning Pilot Project in Michigan

During the 2017-2018 academic year, Mi-STAR is pilot testing its Professional Learning Program by training certified Professional Learning Facilitators (PLFs) in Michigan. These individuals are currently working with implementing classroom teachers. The pilot Mi-STAR Professional Learning Facilitator Training Program involves two different cohorts of PLFs. Participants in these two cohorts include teachers, STEM learning coaches, representatives of ISDs, and members of state-level organizations. Each PLF will work with their own cohorts of implementing classroom teachers who will complete the pilot Mi-STAR Professional Learning Program. The pilot Mi-STAR Professional Learning Facilitator Training Program is underway and is closed to applicants at this time.  Please check back to this page for future training opportunities. 

Interested in using Mi-STAR units during the 2017-2018 school year? School or district administrators can contact one of the Mi-STAR certified Professional Learning Facilitators in their region to inquire about getting their teachers trained to implement Mi-STAR units.

 The following individuals are prepared to work with teachers to implement the Mi-STAR units during 2017-2018. 
 
NameEmailPhoneSchool District or AffilitationCityZip Code
Upper Peninsula
Shawn Oppliger shawn@copperisd.org
906-482-0331                                       
Western UP Center for Math, Science and Environmental EducationHancock
49931          
Bo Winklerbowink24@gmail.com906-396-9755IndependentIron Mountain49801
Northern Lower Peninsula
Christine Borgcborg@brandon.k12.mi.us     
248-627-1860 x2305                    
Brandon School District Ortonville48462
Connie Kennedykennedyc@bcschools.net 989-671-8104Bay City Public Schools & SVSU Math & Science CenterBay City48706
Jen Lenonlenonjj@midlandps.org989-492-4569Midland Public SchoolsMidland48640
Darcy McMahonmcmahon@baystem.net989-615-4372Science Mathematics Technology Center at CMUMt. Pleasant48858
Southeast Michigan
Amy Deller-Antieaudeller@aaps.k12.mi.us734-484-3296Ann Arbor Public SchoolsAnn Arbor48104
Mike Gallaghermike.gallagher1@gmail.com248-842-1509Oakland SchoolsWaterford48382
Chris Geerergeererc@gpschools.org313-432-4600Grosse Pointe Public SchoolsGrosse Pointe Woods 48236
John Greggjohngregg@wlcsd.org248-956-2096Walled Lake Consolidated School DistrictWalled Lake48390
Wendy O'Keefeokeefew@brightonk12.com810-299-3600Brighton Area SchoolsBrighton48116
Lisa Ogiemwonyilogiemwonyi@rochester.k12.mi.us248-726-3132 Rochester Community SchoolsRochester48307
Laura Rienaslaura.rienas@romeok12.org586-623-3660Romeo Community Schools - Macomb CountyRomeo48094
Terrie Robbietlrobbie@stcs.org989-399-8181 Saginaw Township Community SchoolsSaginaw48638
Annie Schaveaschave@flatrockschools.orgn/aaschave@flatrockschools.orgFlat Rock48134
Megan Thrommthrom@berkleyschools.org248-837-8042Berkley SchoolsOak Park48237
Monica (Harvey) Wyrwiczmwyrwicz@rochester.k12.mi.us586-201-1994Rochester Community SchoolsRochester Hills48306
Southwest Michigan
Bonnie Blackmanblackmanbc40@aol.com269-348-1962Kalamazoo Public SchoolsKalamazoo 49006
Sarah Colemanscoleman@muskegonisd.org616-648-3094MAISD Muskegon49442
Yonee Bryant-Kuiphoff kuiphoffye@kalamazoopublicschools.net269-337-1740 x1201Kalamazoo Public Schools Kalamazoo49006
Landry Coffeylcoffey@jpsonline.org616-457-1404Jenison Public SchoolsJenison49428
Jennifer Derbyjderby@fhps.net616-493-8573Forest Hills Public SchoolsGrand Rapids49546
Dawn Kahlerkahlerdm@kalamazoopublicschools.net269-341-3335Kalamazoo Public SchoolsKalamazoo49001
Lara Minnearlminnear@zps.org616-822-9269Zeeland Public SchoolsZeeland 49464
Morgan Miniseeminiseemj@kalamazoopublicschools.ne269-337-1740Kalamazoo Public SchoolsKalamazoo49006
Ashley Poolepoolear@kalamazoopublicschools.nen/aKalamazoo Public Schools Kalamazoo49009
Wendi Vogel wendivogel@kentisd.org616-889-3938 Kent Intermediate School District Grand Rapids49525


 
GET Mi-STAR NEWS BY E-MAIL!
Copyright © 2017 Mi-STAR - Michigan Science Teaching and Assessment Reform
Mi-STAR is made possible through the generous support provided by the Herbert H. and Grace A. Dow Foundation.
Designed & Powered by:
GET Mi-STAR NEWS BY E-MAIL!